Basically gluten is a protein found in many grains so the only thing you need to avoid is these grains. You can still eat all fruits and vegetables and nuts, all meats, seafood and eggs. You can still eat butter, ghee, fats and oils. You can still drink milk and eat most dairy products. You can still eat all herbs and spices. You can still eat all legumes and beans. The problem is only in the grains and only in some grains.
It sounds simple, doesn’t it and it is until you start eating out or buying things at the store like sauces, biscuits, sandwiches and pre prepared meals or joining in at family meals where others do not prepare gluten free meals.
The grains to avoid which contain gluten are:
- spelt ( which is a form of gluten)
- barley and malt including malt vinegar
So what can I eat for breakfast?
- Rice, including rice porridge, any forms of rice including basmati, long grain rice, short grain rice or brown rice, rice flour or rice bran.
- Quinoa, millet, amaranth.
- Plain yoghurts.
- Vegetables of any kind including potato and corn.
- Fruits of any kind.
- Nuts of any kind.
- Fruit smoothie made with milk (of any kind) and fruit.
- Eggs cooked in any way.
- Meat of any kind as long as it is not covered in batter, breadcrumbs or flour.
What can I eat for lunch and dinner?
- Salads of fruit and nuts.
- Salads of vegetables.
- Meat such as lamb, beef, goat, pork, kangaroo.
- Seafood such as fish, prawns, crab, scallops, mussels, oysters.
- Stir fry with a combination of meats and vegetables.
- Any combination of the Breakfast foods that you choose.
What grains and starches are gluten free?
- Gluten-free oats
- Kasha (buckwheat groats)
Do you have any questions about starting to go gluten free? Please ask them in the comments on this page.